perfectmili.blogg.se

Screenrecycler alternative mac
Screenrecycler alternative mac






screenrecycler alternative mac
  1. SCREENRECYCLER ALTERNATIVE MAC HOW TO
  2. SCREENRECYCLER ALTERNATIVE MAC PC

I used to use ScreenRecycler but unfortunately it doesnt work on anything later than OSX 10.10 (and thats. He is a real person and not a geek, so I need to keep things simple for him, and despite being the unofficial Mac technical support for this office, I'm only physically there one day a week, so I don't want to be in a position where things go so titsup he can't even use his MBP by itself with me on the other side of the city. You could also use any remote desktop app and connect from your iMac to your Mac Pro.

SCREENRECYCLER ALTERNATIVE MAC HOW TO

I know how to do this, but don't know what the repercussions could be for him- I know he uses his MBP in his personal time to muck around in Logic, so would using the 32-bit kernel affect its performance with something like that?

screenrecycler alternative mac

Does anyone remember this or is it just a figment of my imagination?ģ) If ScreenRecycler is the way to go, I will have to switch his MBP into 32-bit mode to use it.

SCREENRECYCLER ALTERNATIVE MAC PC

I have a few reservations about it too, as it seems to work with some kind of VNC voodoo rather than working as an actual display, which would presumably have to work over some kind of network? I'm hesitant about this as this is at a small business with around 12 people in there a day some Mac, some PC some wired, some wireless, and whenever anyone makes a large transfer across Bonjour it seems to bring everybody in the office's connection to a grinding halt, so if this ScreenRecycler runs over Bonjour or the LAN, it'd probably do the same.ġ) Has anyone had any experience with this ScreenRecycler application? Do you have any comments/recommendations/other advice with regards to it?Ģ) I seem to have a vague recollection that there was a hack for using these white iMacs as an external display- like, the graphics port could be used as an input or an output. I ran into a problem before I even got going though, as it complained that it didn't work with the 64bit kernel, which is apparently enabled by default on his new machine. I did a bit of googling on this and turned up ScreenRecycler, which I tried to set up for him when I was in the office last week. Because he is using it at a desk in an office all day, he would prefer to use the iMac as an external screen plugged in to his new MBP, as it is bigger and much more ergonomic than using a 13" screen directly on his desk! One of my colleagues at a company I work with has recently (and very understandably!) ran out of patience with the 20" iMac G5 (I think it's an A1076 but not 100%) he was supplied and has bought himself a nice shiny new 13" MacBook Pro.








Screenrecycler alternative mac